Today, Sports History-Brady records postseason TDs

Today, Sports History-Brady records postseason TDs

Jan. 10

1972 — After 33 consecutive wins in professional sports, the longest streak of major winnings — the Bucks defeated the Los Angeles Lakers 120 to 104. This was despite 39 points from Milwaukee’s Kareem Abdel-Jabbar.

1980 — Jim Stewart is the Boston Bruins’ first goaltender. He scores three goals within the first 4 minutes, and then five more in the second period. He was replaced by another goaltender and never played in the NHL again.

1982 — Joe Montana throws his third touchdown pass to Dwight Clark from 6-yards to Dwight Clark with 51 seconds left to lift the San Francisco 49ers over the Dallas Cowboys to a 28-27 win in the NFC championship game.

1998 — Michelle Kwan earns eight perfect 6.0s from nine points for her artistry during the free skating to win her second U.S.A. Figure Skating Championships in Three Years.

2002 — Todd Eldredge won his sixth U.S. Figure Skating Championships champion. Eldredge defeats Tim Goebel, the defending champion after he has completed two seasons.

2004 — Michelle Kwan won her eighth consecutive title at the U.S. Figure Skating Championships. Figure Skating Championships. Maribel Vinson (one of the greats in figure skating) has nine more U.S. Championships.

2006. Bruce Sutter, the fourth pitcher and the first to be elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame with no previous career starts is elected.

2008 — Alex Ovechkin extends his contract with Washington Capitals for $124 Million over 13 years. This is the NHL’s $100 million first deal.

2009 — Arizona is the NFC’s only team that has not made it to the conference championship games since 1970 when the NFL and AFL merged. After a win of 33-13 at Carolina, Arizona will host the NFC Championship game.

2010. Karlos Dansby’s touchdown return of 17 yards for the Green Bay Packers gives the Arizona Cardinals victory 51 to 45 in overtime. This is the most-scoring NFL playoff game.

2011 — No. 2 Auburn wins the top-ranked race 2 Oregon, 22-19, in the BCS championship game. A 14-0 season was capped by Wes Byrum’s field goal of 19 yards with no time remaining — his sixth game-winning field goal in career —

2015 — North Dakota State’s quarterback Carson Wentz ran 5 yards to score the winning touchdown. This was just a minute after TreRoberson’s Illinois State run of 58 yards. The Bison won their fourth straight FCS Championship with an exciting 29-27 win.

2015 — Tom Brady establishes a new postseason record in touchdown passes. He led New England from two 14 point deficits to win a 35-31 win over Baltimore. Brady surpasses Joe Montana’s postseason record of 46 TD passes, and the Patriots reach their fourth consecutive AFC Championship game.

2016 — Blair Walsh’s field goal attempt of 27 yards into frigid Minnesota wind to help the Minnesota Hooks was successful with 22 seconds left. The Seattle Seahawks won 10-9 against the Vikings, in their playoff round in sub-zero temperatures.

2016 — Alex Ovechkin scored his 500th goal and 501st goal to be the 43rd NHL player who has reached this milestone. The Washington Capitals defeated the Ottawa Senators 7-1.

2022 — College Football, National Championship at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Indiana. #3 Georgia defeats #1 Alabama 33-18


Continue reading